The Valley Manifesto

Norman Matrix
2 min readDec 22, 2020
  1. I swear to fulfill, to the best of my knowledge, this premise:
  2. I swear that I will respect the hard-won technical foundation of those engineers in whose steps I tread,
  3. And gladly share knowledge as is mine with those who are to follow.
  4. I will apply, for the benefit of the users, all measures that are required, avoiding those shortcuts that improve my performance or my employees’ at the users’ cost.
  5. I will remember that there is art to engineering, and that experience, design, and empathy may outweigh performance, cost, or time to deliver.
  6. I will not be ashamed to say ‘I know not’, nor will I fail to call in my fellow engineers when the skills of another are required for the task at hand.
  7. I will respect the privacy of the users, for their data is not disclosed to me for the world to know.
  8. I will respect the competence of the users, for their decisions are not handed to me for the artificial intelligence to take over.
  9. Most especially I must tread carefully in matters of life and death.
  10. I will remember that I do not write a story, build a machine, or run a system, but handle the digital concerns of the user as a fellow human being.
  11. My responsibility includes the economic and personal safety, as well as the freedoms ensured to the user by his constitutional rights.
  12. I will remember to remain a member of society, with special obligations to my fellow human beings, as my actions affect not one but many at once.
  13. Those matters include care for the mind and body, as well as the disabled.
  14. If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered well thereafter.
  15. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and my I long experience the joy of engineering technology that helps.

--

--

Norman Matrix

Student of life ⛩ Sage of nothingness 🌚 Digital taxonomist #airevolt #digitalstrike #easyrider normanmatrix.eu